Pierre’s Church The church was built in
the 12th century in the centre of the oppidan. Listed as an
Historical Monument, it is entirely Romanesque except for a
Gothic side chapel which was rebuilt at the request of
Bertrand de Montaigne, brother of the philosopher, for him to
be buried in.
The cemetery surrounding the church has a 15th century stone
cross which was returned to its original place in 1629 having
suffered serious damage during the Wars of Religion.
Beautifully sculptured, the cross has four statuettes nestled
in small niches and is decorated in relief with the royal
emblems of Louis XII and Anne of Brittany. It is also studded
with shells and staffs brought back by pilgrims from St Iago
de Compestella who sought shelter in the Commandary situated
opposite the church (which later (1804-1840) became a famous
Château (private property) Situated to the eastern
side of the oppidan, the château is listed as an historical
monument. It was acquired by Michel de Montaigne for his younger
brother, Bertrand, who had it rebuilt at the end of the 16th
century. The 16th century building underwent alterations under
the 1795-9 ‘Directoire’ when a romantic garden was added. Today
the château’s main body is flanked by perpendicular wings
separated by round towers.