- 1860: The old church in the Port
Square was demolished - 1866: The new church was finished
- 1879: Bridge and railway link finished (BERGERAC-LE BUISSON)
- 1899: November 20, 1899, two
kilometres from the Mauzac dam, 15 gabares or coizadoux, 11
meters long, 270 meters wide, and one meter high, fight the wind,
in spite of favourable currents, to reach the lock
- 1910 to 1918: The dam was raised to supply the hydroelectric
factory opened in 1920.
-1949-1951: The dam was raised a
second time by 1m10, to increase the original production of
electrical energy by putting a sixth turbine in the factory.
At the same time, the dam’s evacuation capacity was changed by
installing automated floodgates, which increased the flow when
the water level rose (assuring no more floods in the town of
Also, a magnificent lake of more than 1000 hectares, was
created. It is an attractive area where one can fish, sail,
row, canoe, kayak.
1997: The banks were developed with inside walk toward the
ferryman’s house (ferry), maps, photos, pictures of Mauzac in
Restoration of the “Theatre Site”, perched on the hill that
overlooks the Dordogne River valley and the town of Mauzac. A
very pretty viewpoint with a viewpoint indicator. The GR6
hiking trail crosses this site. In addition to this site, the
GR6 also lets you discover remarkable bories (igloo-shaped
huts made of dry stone).