Print this page Print
HomeTown Hall  > 
Gageac et Rouillac Town Hall


Gageac Church

At Gageac :

The outside of Gageac church, rebuilt in the 18th century, is of little interest but inside there are crystal chandeliers, a gilt wooden alter and a fine painting – a copy of a Lebrun – depicting St John on the island of Pathmos writing the Apocolypse. The frame of sculptured wood is a precious work of art in itself.

The chateau served as the base from which the village defended itself in the 12th century and was seized from the English by du Guesclin in 1360. It has an unusual alley of mulberry bushes which were planted around 1873 for silk worms – a flourishing business of the time. The chateau is now a quiet and tranquil residence lived in by the same family since 1810-20.


Rouillac Church

At Rouillac :

The picturesque church situated on a hillside overlooking the Chateau de Perou (built during the reign of Louis XIII) stands by itself in a clearing overlooking a vast plain with views of rolling hills in the distance. The church was renovated in 1902 and annexed to Gageac and is today a chapel of ease served by a curate. The attractive, sculptured wooden alter is listed.


Rouillac Cross