Home > Places to Discover > Sites >
Saint-Martin Chapel to Limeuil

Discovery Photos  : click here


Listed as an
Historical
Monument
 
Map
The commune
Acknowledgements -
Photos

Cut stone Romanesque building from the end of the 12th century.
It has a 14-metre long unarched nave, a front choir under a dome, and a choir with a semicircular apse. The western façade is remarkable in its simplicity, with its triangular gable that starts above a bevelled horizontal panel and its portal with four full arches descending onto the abutments at sharp angles.
The square steeple, whose upper part is pierced by two rectangular bays on each side, was rebuilt in the 18th century.

A chapel at the south of the choir has disappeared. In the 14th century, at the north, a transept chapel was built. Traces of frescos, stone cut inscriptions from 1194 and 1250.

For more information, click here (pdf)

Buisson de CadouinTourist Information Office
Tel / fax :
+33 (0)5.53.22.06.09
 

   
-Limeuil chateau Gardens
-Picturesque Village

-Trémolat and Limeuil Meanders